Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Pearls of Inspiration

We list the biographies of the following 12 women and acknowledge them as the Pearls of Inspiration for this organization.  Each of their lives and commitment to the education, health, wealth and welfare of the Black community has inspired the genesis of this organization.  The Black Pearl Society is a conduit for developing the gifts, talent and genius of Black women and channeling it motivating and supporting the leadership of Black women as we continue their legacy of love, hope and empowerment. They represent the “12 hands of our time”.

Philis Wheatley

Sojourner Truth

Harriet Tubman

Charlotte Forten Grimke

Mary Church Terrell

Ida B. Wells-Burnett

Madame CJ Walker

Zora Neale Hurston

Charlotte Hawkins Brown

Ella Baker

Rosa Parks

Nettie Coad

Gladys Faulk Shipman